The National Assessment and Accreditation Council, an Autonomous Institution of the University Grants Commission has been assessing the performance of the Universities and Colleges. It sent a Peer team comprising Dr. Malla Reddy as Chairman and Mrs. Mercy Abraham as member to our College on 12th and 13th March 2000 to assess our college on seven Criteria namely : (i) Curricular Aspects (ii) Teaching-Learning and Evaluation (iii) Research (iv) Consultancy and Extension (v) Infrastructure and Learning Resources (vi) Student Support and Progres (vii) Organisation and Management and (vii) Healthy Practices. Highly satisfied with our performance, our college was accredited with FIVE STARS (the maximum credit) on 17th April 2000 by the NAAC on the recommendations of the Peer team for a period of five years.


The The UGC Expert Committee comprising Shri. A.K. Dogra, Prof. P. Thirmoorthy, Dr. N.D. Veronica and Prof. P. Ramaiah visited the College on 27th April 2006 for grant of Autonomous status to our college. Based on their recommendations, the UGC conferred the status of Autonomy on our College and it was formally inagurated on 28th August 2006.
Name of the Secretary Rev.Fr.Pushparaj Gnanasamy SJ,
Address & Telephone No. St. Xavier's College of Education (Autonomous)
  Palayamkottai - 627 002. 0462-2577630
Name of the Principal Rev. Dr. D. Thomas Alexander, S.J.,
Residence Telephone No 0462-2560005, 4264218
Hostel 0462-4264496
Year of establishment 1950